Photography

4 Amazing Photos of Horses

All four of these photos that I took feature an equine or equines as the main subjects. They are given in order from oldest to newest.

Animals can often make very good photographic subjects, and horses and their relatives are no exception. Next to dogs and cats, they are likely the most photographed domesticated animals on the face of the planet.

DSC_0961 (1280x853)

This fellow pictured above was one of many well-tempered horses used at an annual Great War event (a World War I reenactment) in Rockford, Illinois. Directly below is another one of these fine steeds, though it has a darker coat of brown hair.

 

DSC_0123 (2) (1280x853)
Like many animals, if you look into the eyes of a horse you can often get a sense of some emotion they are portraying. This picture makes me feel that way. The horse’s face carries a measure of depth with it.

 

This next one is rather splendid and could be considered the best out of the whole lot shown here. It was taken in Rome, Italy a few months ago when my family and I visited the Eternal City for my cousin’s diaconate ordination at St. Peter’s Basilica.

 

horseandcarriageJMJ (1280x855)
A workhorse obviously, this equine was calm in all the hustle and bustle of the hectic tourist city but was not necessarily nice to strangers.

And this last photo was taken about a week ago when my family went to the city of Chicago, Illinois (about an hour from our home) to visit the Field Museum and see the Christmas lights in the store windows.

 

horsesJMJ (1280x853)
It’s a pair of police horses ridden by police officers. The police don’t notice or mind, but I think this horse in front caught on that I was taking its picture.

 

 

Leave a comment